Novacon 50


The History of Novacon

The first Novacon was intended by the then Aston Science Fiction Group as a one-off event to complement the long-established Eastercon, but its success prompted the newly-resurrected Birmingham Science Fiction Group to assume the reins and organise a Novacon every autumn since.

The table below details past venues and guests; a more in-depth guide, including committee members and pre-convention membership figures, will be published in the programme book. You can see the archive websites for Novacon 36 onwards by following the link in the convention number.

Number Year Venue Guests
  1971 Imperial Centre Hotel, Birmingham James White
2 1972 Imperial Centre Hotel, Birmingham Doreen Rogers
3 1973 Imperial Centre Hotel, Birmingham Ken Bulmer
4 1974 Imperial Centre Hotel, Birmingham Ken Slater
5 1975 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Dan Morgan
6 1976 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham David Kyle
7 1977 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham John Brunner
8 1978 Holiday Inn, Birmingham Anne McCaffrey
9 1979 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Christopher Priest
10 1980 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Brian W Aldiss
11 1981 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Bob Shaw
12 1982 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Harry Harrison
13 1983 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Lisa Tuttle
14 1984 Grand Hotel, Birmingham Robert Holdstock
15 1985 De Vere Hotel, Coventry David Langford, James White
16 1986 De Vere Hotel, Coventry Chris Evans, E C Tubb
17 1987 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Iain M Banks
18 1988 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Garry Kilworth
19 1989 Excelsior Hotel, Solihull Geoff Ryman
20 1990 Excelsior Hotel, Solihull Dr Jack Cohen
21 1991 Forte Post House, Solihull (formerly the Excelsior Hotel) Colin Greenland
22 1992 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Storm Constantine
23 1993 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Stephen Baxter
24 1994 Royal Angus Hotel, Birmingham Graham Joyce
25 1995 Chamberlain Hotel, Birmingham Brian W Aldiss, Harry Harrison, Bob Shaw,
Special Guest: Iain M Banks
26 1996 Ibis Hotel, Birmingham David Gemmell
27 1997 Abbey Hotel, Malvern Peter F Hamilton
28 1998 Britannia Hotel, Birmingham Paul J McAuley
29 1999 Britannia Hotel, Birmingham Ian Stewart
30 2000 Britannia Hotel, Birmingham Christopher Priest, Special Guest: Rog Peyton,
Guest Artist: David A Hardy
31 2001 Quality Hotel, Bentley Gwynneth Jones
32 2002 Quality Hotel, Bentley Ian McDonald
33 2003 Quality Hotel, Bentley Jon Courtenay Grimwood
34 2004 Quality Hotel, Bentley Ian Watson
35 2005 Quality Hotel, Bentley Alastair Reynolds
36 2006 Quality Hotel, Bentley Ken MacLeod
37 2007 Quality Hotel, Bentley Charles Stross
38 2008 Quality Hotel, Bentley Ian R MacLeod and Vernon Brown
39 2009 Park Inn, Nottingham Justina Robson
40 2010 Park Inn, Nottingham Iain M Banks, Special Guest: Brian Aldiss
41 2011 Park Inn, Nottingham John Meaney
42 2012 Park Inn, Nottingham Jaine Fenn
43 2013 Park Inn, Nottingham Jo Walton
44 2014 Park Inn, Nottingham Kari Sperring, Science Guest: John Gribbin
45 2015 Park Inn, Nottingham Anne and Stan Nicholls
46 2016 Park Inn, Nottingham Juliet McKenna
47 2017 Park Inn, Nottingham Adrian Tchaikovsky
48 2018 Park Inn, Nottingham Chris Beckett
49 2019 Nottingham Sherwood Hotel Mike Carey